Board of Directors

Surendra Prasad OAM

Deputy Chair

Michael Yau OAM

Deputy Chair

Serge Voloschenko OAM

Honorary President and life member

Michael Po Saw

Board Director

Tracey Silvester

Tracey Silvester

Board Director

Amar Khan

Amar Khan

Board Director

Eliza Hess

Board Director

John Fox APM

Company Secretary

Elijah Buol OAM, Chair of the Board

Elijah is currently a Queensland State Lead for Migration Support Programs with Australian Red Cross. Elijah has sat on various Government and not for profit boards. He is currently a member of Responsible Gambling Advisory Committee with Department of Justice and Attorney-General. He has a unique understanding of multicultural communities and young people issues. Elijah was the 2019 Queensland Local Hero of the year for the Australian of the Year Awards and recipient of the Order of Australia Medal 2019. Elijah is a Nationally Accredited Mediator and Family Dispute Resolution Practitioner and holds various tertiary qualification including a Master of Law and Master of Justice (Intelligence).

Surendra Prasad OAM, Deputy Chair of the Board

Surendra is a very well known active senior community leader. Surendra has been involved with numerous charitable, political, religious and welfare organisations in Queensland. In recognition of Surendra’s dedication to his community, he has received a large number of awards which includes the Order of Australia Medal 2006, Seniors of the Year Award 2012, Premier’s Multicultural Diversity Award 2014 and Glory of India Award 2012. Surendra is committed to fostering an inclusive society that promotes equal rights and opportunities regardless of cultural ethnic or religious background.

Michael Yau OAM, Deputy Chair of the Board

Michael is a professional engineer specialising in project and construction management and a Fellow of Engineers Australia. He has master degrees in engineering and law and a post graduate in Management.  Michael has been appointed to several key positions on boards and committees in federal, state and local governments providing advice in culture, health, engineering, international business and trade. He has been Chair of QEII Health Community Council, a member of Professional Engineers Disciplinary Panel, a member of the Building and Development Tribunals and a former member of the Premier’s Business Roundtable. Michael is Past President of the Queensland Chinese Forum and the Chinese Fraternity Association. He is the current President of the Hong Kong Association, President of the Australia Hong Kong Chamber of Commerce and Queensland Chairperson of the National Liaison Council of Chinese Australians, and a Director of the Chinese Club. Michael has served the ECCQ Board for a long period of time. He also serves on the QPS Police Ethnic Advisory Group, the Lord Mayor’s Multicultural Roundtable and Standards Australia.

Serge Voloschenko OAM, Honorary President and life member

Serge has served ECCQ in a range of capacities over the last 40 years, including 14 years as Chairperson. Serge is the current President of the Russian Benevolent Association, which set up Pine Lodge Home, a residential aged care facility for the Russian speaking community. Serge is a member of the Multicultural Queensland Advisory Council, which advises the Minister for Multicultural Affairs on opportunities and challenges facing people from CALD backgrounds. Serge has amassed a wealth of understanding around broader community issues through his many years of community work and his membership on many other advisory bodies and committees, including the Healthy Ageing Reference Network, the Police Ethnic Advisory Group, the Lord Mayor’s Multicultural Roundtable, the Heritage Advisory Committee, and the Responsible Gambling Advisory Committee.

Michael Po Saw, Board Member

Michael is a Mechanical Engineer, and has worked in governmental, non-governmental and international organisations, mainly in automotive engineering and transportation sector. He has been working as an Engineering Technical Officer in Development Assessment with the City Planning and Sustainability Division of Brisbane City Council. At the community level, he is, and has been, the President of the Australian Myanmar Friendship Association of Queensland Incorporated since 2012.

Tracey Silvester

Tracey Silvester, Board Director

Tracey brings more than 25 years in the health and aged care management sector. A registered nurse since 1989, Ms Silvester also teaches undergraduate and postgraduate students at Griffith University’s Health Services Management Department in health workforce, health economics and healthcare systems. Tracey is a Fellow of the Australasian College of Health Service Managers.

Amar Khan

Amar Khan, Board Director

Amar is a Public Health Practitioner and has worked for Queensland Health for nearly 18 years. Amar previously served on the Board of the Islamic College of Brisbane for ten years, and held the positions of President and Vice President of Pakistan Australian Cultural Association of Qld Inc for several years, served as Vice President of the Islamic Council of Queensland for 8 years and was the founding Vice President of the Islamic Society of Central Qld and Islamic Society of Ipswich Inc. Amar was awarded the ICQ Inaugural Community Service Award for 25 years of community services and has help many refugees and migrants to settle in Brisbane, Ipswich and Rockhampton.

Eliza Hess , Board Director

Eliza is a career lawyer and community advocate who has a keen interest in organisational governance and social justice issues. Eliza has practised in the legal field for 20 years, most recently in the area of immigration and visa law where she has experience in case work, policy development and advocacy. She has direct knowledge of the migrant and refugee experience, having arrived in Australia as a refugee in 1981. Outside of Australia, Eliza has lived in Poland, Japan, and the United States, and these experiences inform her understanding of multiculturalism.

Eliza currently serves on the management committee of “Polonia” Polish Association of Queensland Inc, which operates The Polish Club Milton, and has previously held committee roles in legal professional associations, a body corporate, and the Federation of Polish Organisations in Queensland. In 2023, she was awarded the Polish Community Council of Australia Medal for distinguished services to the Polish community in Australia.

Eliza holds various tertiary qualification including a Master of Laws (Columbia University) and Graduate Certificate in Philanthropy and Nonprofit Studies (QUT). Her voluntary experience and interests span legal professional associations, community organisations, creative industries, mental health, and animal welfare.

John Fox APM, Company Secretary

John is a retired police inspector who served with the Queensland Police Service for over 42 years working is a variety of locations and different capacities. For over 10 years, John was the Officer in Charge of the Cultural Advisory Unit working out of the Office of the Commissioner and engaged across a wide range of activities, policies and undertakings with the Multicultural and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Communities of Queensland. John was presented with the Australian Police Medal and the QPS Meritorious Service Medal for his achievements in these sectors